Malifaux removes a lot of the complexity of playing a game with 2D or 3D terrain by abstracting measurements as ‘top-down’. When measuring between two points, all measurements are either made horizontally (parallel to the table) or vertically (perpendicular to the table). This allows players to stand over the table, draw the line of measurement between the points, and move the game along without worrying about distances varying based on the angles the points are at. When a model moves, measure the horizontal distance the model traveled, even if the model is moving up or down an incline. Models moving vertically via Climbable terrain combine the vertical distance moved with the horizontal distance.
When measuring the distance from a model for Shooting, Auras, Pulses or Summons, you again measure horizontally.
Spirits, like Undead and Constructs, are non-living, and immune to Morale Duels. Where they differ from most models is the way they interact with terrain, LoS, and the fact their ability to reduce incoming damage.
Spirits don't block Line of Sight so you can freely target a model behind a Spirit.
Spirits take half damage from non-magical sources. Magical sources include Spells that inflict direct damage and Weapons with the Magical Characteristic, but don't include Spells that increase the damage on a mundane Weapon (eg. Samual Hopkins’ Flaming Bullets adds 2 to the damage from his gun, but won't make it cause Magical damage.)
If a model has both Spirit and Armor. Carry out the damage reduction in arithmetic order, so half the damage for the Spirit and then lower it by the Armor. For example, a Spirit model with Armor +1 suffers 4 damage. First, Spirit halves the damage from 4 to 2, then Armor reduces it by 1 more to a total of 1 damage.
When Spirits move they follow the same rules for movement their non-Spirit counterparts do other than their ability to ignore movement modifiers and pass through terrain. For example, a Spirit without Float cannot move up or down vertical surfaces without climbing/jumping.
When you Push a model it can only move in a manner that is normally legal for the type of model being Pushed. This applies to Spirits being moved by other models’ Talents and Spells as well. Another model can push a Spirit through a balcony floor since the Spirit is allowed to pass through terrain. The Spirit would then fall once its base passed through the floor if it lacked some means of preventing the fall, such as Float. Spirit models do suffer damage from falling like other models.
Because Spirits can move through but not end their movement within impassible terrain, when another model moves a Spirit into impassible terrain the Spirit must move completely through the terrain with the move or it ends the move at the point it would enter the terrain.
Spirits can freely move through other models and non-Spirit models may freely move through them. Note however that you cannot end your movement on top of another model’s base.
Spirits can be targeted normally by Disengaging Strikes like any other model. Disengaging Strikes are made when a model leaves a models melee range or LoS, so if a Spirit attempts to escape through a wall the opponent can attempt to make a Disengaging Strike as it leaves. If the Strike hits the Spirit it fails to pass through the wall.
Some models may begin an Encounter buried, or become buried as a result of a Talent or Spell during the Encounter.
To bury a model:
1. Resolve any immediate effects on it.
2. If the model is buried outside its activation, remove it from the table.
3. If the model is being buried during its activation:
Models that were activated through a simultaneous activation (Companion, for example) but have not yet spent their AP are considered to have started their activations, and therefore their activations end immediately when buried.
While buried, a model is out of play (remains removed from the table), but is still in the game. Effects on a buried model resolve as indicated in their descriptions. However no new Effects may be generated while buried (eg. If a Lilitu is buried Two Sided can't create a wounding Effect, so Lilitu does not take 3 Wd from it).
If an effect would remove a buried model from the game:
A model is immediately unburied and returned to play when an effect would allow it to do so - even if that effect was generated by another model than the one which buried it.
For Auras and Pulses imagine an infinitely high cylinder around the model which is putting out the effect. If you can trace a route from the originating model to another model which is at all times inside this cylinder then it is affected. This route doesn't have to be a straight line but can't pass through blocking terrain.
The same is true in 3D. An aura can go over a wall and then under a bridge as long as all parts of the route are inside the Aura's cylinder.
If a model moves to a point where you can trace a route from the originator of the aura it becomes affected by the aura, likewise if he moves to a point where you can't trace a route it's no longer affected
Blasts work in exactly the same way as Auras. In the case of Blasts, however, they are only Ht 3 rather than infinitely tall. Because of this you can only trace routes up to Ht 3. If you have multiple blasts the route between the originator (eg. the target of the attack) and other models affected by the Blast must pass between the Blasts at the point they touch.
In the case of models that can create Obscuring Auras like Crooligans, Steamborgs or Stitched Together any point which you can trace a route to counts as Obscuring.
If a model cannot be affected by, or is immune to an Action Modifier that means the Modifier is not applied to the model. For example, a Shikome affected by Fast could not have the Fast negated by an application of Slow because it cannot be affected by Slow due to its Relentless Ability.
Multiple applications of the same Action Modifier do not stack. Each application of the Modifier replaces the current one. Example: A model already affected by Fast receives a second Fast. The first Fast is replaced by the second one.
When it is your turn to activate a model, you may choose a model with Paralyzed. Instead of activating the model you forfeit (skip) its activation.
Paralyzed models can be included in Companion chains. When it is their opportunity to activate, they are skipped, and their Paralyzed ends -unless somewhere along the way in that chain the Paralyzed is removed by a Talent or Spell.
Models which have Poison Tokens don't suffer Wd or remove Tokens when they forfeit an activation to clear Paralyzed as they are not activating.
So there’s a fine looking gal beckoning to you from across the table, how do you work out which route you take to reach her? The rules say you move towards her, but how does this work in practice when the route’s clogged with terrain?
There are really three parts to toward.
When an Ability tells you to Push a model into Base to Base, simply Place the model so it's touching the base of the target model.
When an Ability tells you to Push a model to within x" of another model. Place the model at any point where a portion of its base is within x" of the target model.
If it says Push to completely within x", you must Place the model so no part of the base is more than x" away from the target model.
1. Total the Damage being inflicted.
2. Apply damage reduction.
3. Convert the inflicted damage total into wounds. If wounds were being inflicted instead of damage, begin here instead of Step 1.
4. Apply wound reduction.
5. The model suffers any wounds remaining.
6. Any Triggers which occur after resolving damage/wounds occur now.
Short answer: Almost everyone overthinks it.
Longer answer: Here’s how Companion works.
You have models with the Companion (X) Ability and models with the X Characteristic (or whatever is required by Companion). To simultaneously activate two models with Companion, one of the pair must have Companion (X), the other must have X and they must be within 6" of each other.
Companion can be chained out across multiple pairs as long as each link in the chain is a valid Companion pairing. You nominate all the models you wish to simultaneously activate using the chain as a group and announce they are simultaneously activating.
The models you nominate are all considered to have started their activations when the group is announced. In an order of your choosing you then complete the activations for each of those models.
That’s how Companion works. The sample diagrams show some of the common ways models can and can’t Companion and typical chaining do's and don'ts. You should be able to extrapolate larger chains from these samples.
In the case of Seamus' Womanizer Action, he creates an activation opportunity for a Belle after his activation ends. Before that Belle activates it can Companion with Sybelle as normal. If Sybelle is within 6" of other Belles those models can also use their Companion to activate as well. See sample 3 in "Examples of Companion Chains". The Womanized Belle would be model A, Sybelle would be model D, and the other Belles would each be a C.
Four of these models may form a Companion group and Simultaneously Activate as they form an unbroken chain. Each link of the chain consists of a model with Companion(trait) and the corresponding trait. The order in which you decide who is in the chain is unimportant as they are being chosen simultaneously.
1. Nominate models selected to be Simultaneously Activated.
2. All Models selected count as having Activated at this point. (Abilities like 'On the Trail' check now as it says 'if it activates within')
3. Select each model in the Simultaneous Activation to perform its individual Activation. Repeat a-e below until all of those models have activated
Basic Companion. A and C can simultaneously activate with B since A and C have the Companion Ability and B has the Dude Characteristic.
Basic Companion. All can simultaneously activate as sample 1 since A has Companion and C has the Dude Characteristic, likewise the same goes for C and B respectively.
All can simultaneously activate as A and B have the Characteristic D needs for its Companion Ability.
This sample answers the OP's question directly. A and B1 can activate simultaneously, but B2 cannot be included in the simultaneous activation because there is no model with Companion within 6” of it.
This expands on samples 1 and 2. All models can simultaneously activate because in each pairing one of the models has Companion (A in the A/B, C in the B/C, and D in the C/D) while the other has the Characteristic required.
In this sample there are two legal simultaneous activation groups, but only one can be nominated during this activation. A and B1 can simultaneously activate, likewise B2 and D can simultaneously activate, but there is no Companion linking the two chains into one continuous chain.
Since D has the Companion Ability, but not Dude, D2 cannot be included in the chain as there is nothing on the model for D1’s Ability to Companion with.
When a model is hit by an attack with Poison # or affected by an Ability with Poison #, increase the number of Poison Tokens the model has to the # indicated either after resolving the attack, or as indicated by the Ability. Each time the model begins an activation it suffers 1 Wd per Poison Token it has, and then discards one Poison Token.
When a model dies, it remains on the table while any abilities and effects caused by its death are resolved. During this time it can't be affected by effects or healing.
If a model with Slow to Die suffers an effect that would kill it (eg. Headshot) or has its Wounds reduced to 0, its death is postponed and it may immediately perform a (1) Action. If the model’s current Wounds remain 0, or the effect that killed it has not been negated, it is killed and only then would you resolve events that occur after a model is killed such as dropping Counters, removing it from the game, etc.
When Manifesting an Avatar where there is not enough room to place the model, center the Avatar over your Master and shift any models backward just enough so that there is room for it. If any of the models run into other models or terrain that they could not enter, including Dangerous terrain, players should shift the remaining surrounding models and Avatar’s placement in a mutually agreeable way, leaving those models which couldn’t be moved where they are.
If there is still no way you could place the Avatar after shifting models and the Avatar, then the Manifest Action cannot be performed. (eg. If Ramos is in a 30mm corridor, there would be no way you could place the Avatar.)